In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It has been observed that children with diverse cultural backgrounds are raised believing everything is possible to happen by trying hard in life. While there are some disadvantages associated with this message, I believe the main benefits are more substantial. On the one hand, a potential drawback may be the fact that some children would become perfectionists as they become adults. They may expect themselves to carry out every single thing impeccably in their both personal and professional life so as to become accomplished. In fact, they are not aware that not everything in life depends on their efforts and there are several other factors affecting their achievements. As a result, they might become highly depressed if they fail to do something, or even if everything does not go as they want. On the other hand, a primary advantage of growing with this mindset for children is that they will be encouraged to start everything they want fearlessly. Every youngster dreams about numerous things as they are growing, but in the future, since they put limits on their thoughts, few of them will go for what they truly want. However, if they become self-assured, they will not see the barriers and consequently, they think bigger in a way nobody can, and they will pursue what they are capable of, although it may seem impossible for anybody else. On balance, it is true that telling children they are capable of achieving every goal, would seem disadvantageous under certain circumstances. However, in my opinion, the positive impacts in terms of improving their self-assurance as well as following their dreams, override the drawbacks.