Most successful inventions do not rely on complicated technology. In fact, some of the world’s greatest inventions have been very simple things. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often considered that the most significant inventions do not depend on technological development and they are not complicated. I do agree with this point of view. However, some of the great innovations actually required advanced technologies and were not so simple.  On the one hand, some of the most crucial inventions that we use up to this day were made without highly-developed instruments. Moreover, these things are pretty simple to use. For example, a wheel was made several thousand years ago. During those times there was neither a lot of knowledge about geometry nor complicated tools for engineering. Nevertheless, ancient people had enough talent and creativity to come up with the idea of a wheel and build it. On the other hand, modern inventions also should not be devalued. Nowadays physicians can not imagine their work without advanced tools. For instance, a car engine was made for the first time more than a hundred years ago. Clever people had to put a lot of effort into building it. If the knowledge and instruments had not been already acquired, this indispensable device would not have been manufactured. Thus, sometimes awareness and resources are needed to make fundamental changes in science and engineering. To sum up, I would like to say that though some easy-to-use things were brought to life without knowing a lot about science and having less complex tools that we own today, there were important innovations that were made with the help of developed instruments and difficult intellectual work.