Advertising aimed at children should be banned. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Many children are exposed to a large number of advertisements today and persuaded to buy things like snacks, toys to name but a few. For their safety, it is necessary to impose restrictions or even a ban on advertising aimed at school-age children. Tough regulations on advertising can be an effective means of deterring children from begging their elders to purchase some unnecessary products. That is because they are not always price-sensitive and misled by attractive advertisements which are full of intriguing videos and animated images. As tremendous enjoyment displayed, it gives children the impression that those items are desperately needed for them, which will place a heavy financial burden on their households. Due to profit orientation, advertisers rarely consider the long-term impact of their products on the younger generation, so the government should intervene to minimize the exposure of child-targeted advertisements to minors, which cannot only relieve the financial pressure for families but can curb the over-consumerism. On the other hand, advertising functions as an important medium to not only keep customers well-informed of major features of products, but can provide shoppers more choices as watching different advertisements, thus making a wise decision finally. For instance, if parents get to know some substitutes, which are good value for money, for iPad from advertisements, it can save the educational expense for the family, so they can invest their extra money in other urgent areas. Therefore, it is not appropriate to bar advertisers from promoting products targeted for children without any distortion and misleading information. In conclusion, under no circumstance should we ignore the importance of banning manufacturers from advertising their products in an improper and misguiding manner, but it is unnecessary to prohibit all child-targeted advertisements.