The debate exists on whether young people should have the freedom to select their own profession or if they should adopt a pragmatic approach, considering their future more seriously. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people harbour a belief that youngsters have the choice to choose their own profession, whilst others hold the reverse viewpoint that they should take a practical approach according to future development more seriously. As both perspectives are equally important, I think young people should strike a balance between self-interests and future career paths. Initially, one of the main arguments in favour of young individuals having the freedom to select their own profession is that job markets have become beyond imagination as technology develops. For example, a decade ago people could not imagine there would be jobs like YouTubers or influencers. Since no one can predict the future world, choosing a major that the student truly loves is quite important. Moreover, a career that aligns with interests is more likely to bring job satisfaction. At the other end of the spectrum, earning potential is also an essential factor to consider when selecting a profession. As income level will strictly influence one's life qualities after graduation, adopting a pragmatic approach can result in a stable life. For example, in Taiwan, many parents encourage their children to choose technical majors due to their promising tendencies. Thus, the significance of future development can not be ignored when considering what to major. To sum up, despite the fact that earning potential plays a vital role in choosing a major, youngsters still have the freedom to select the one that they are passionate about. However, individuals are primarily responsible for their well-being. Young individuals should take long-term benefits into consideration so as to create a win-win situation for both sides.