Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many people decide to study a foreign language besides their mother tongue. Some argue that this is because more people want to travel or work in countries that do not use the same language as them. However, I think that there are further reasons why people choose to learn a second language, such as connecting with their family roots. More and more people whose first language is not English opt to learn it. Its popularity has risen since it is widely spoken around the world, making it very handy when traveling for tourism. Similarly, many of the countries that have English as an official language present higher salaries and more job opportunities for people coming from the Global South. Hence, many individuals learn it to move to countries such as Canada or the United States where they will receive better incomes and quality of life. However, many people have learned other languages beside their native language so as to connect with their ancestry. This can be seen in many countries from South America that were colonized by Europeans during Columbus' times. These individuals seek to connect with those relatives that arrived to America, consequently learning the language from the countries from where they had come. For instance, there are many Argentineans with Italian ancestry, so many citizens from Argentina learn italian. In conclusion, although languages are very useful in terms of travelling and getting better job opportunities abroad, it can also provide us deeper and meaningful connections with those that lived before us.