In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

It is becoming increasingly interesting for people to find out the background story of the house or building they reside in. The major reason behind this is curiosity about their residents. Some ways could be done to research the history, such as interviewing the local neighbourhoods, going to libraries or searching it online. There are some motives for people to explore the past of the place where they live. Firstly, it is because curiosity is the nature of human beings. Therefore, they tend to wonder about the origin of something, including their residents. This exploration could be beneficial for homeowners since they can gather information about their houses and the important histories behind them. As an example, in the Conjuring movie, the homeowner and the paranormal tried to find the history of the house in order to reveal the reasons behind the haunted experience that the homeowner experienced. By gathering the data, they could also find out about the old times of the building’s structure, whether it ever experienced a disaster or something else, so when they want to renovate it, they would take some precautionary measures to avoid the same things that happened before. There are some kinds of activities that could help the owner to reveal the secrets of their residents. First, they can ask their neighbours about the house. It could be an effective way if the person that they interviewed has lived there for a long time. Additionally, local people are familiar with the surroundings. Therefore, they could give a specific story about the house. Secondly, the local library could be one of the options if the authority has good documentation about the area. To illustrate, the government of the Dutch East Indies has a good archive of Surabaya’s maps, which will give advantages in the research. Lastly, we could utilize the Internet. The internet provides a bunch of information that can be accessed by the public. For example, Google Maps has a feature to look back at the old maps in real view, which helps us to find out the chronicles. To conclude, people like to discover the past stories of their buildings because they are curious about them. They could learn that information by asking the local community, reading some materials from the local libraries, or the Internet.