Older people often choose to spend money on themselves (e.g. on holidays) rather than save money for their children after retirement. Is this a positive or negative development?

There has been a tremendous increase in the number of invdividuals questioning whether older poeple should leave their saving to their children. While some may strongly disagree, I firmly believe that older people have the right to enjoy the money they made themselves. From my perspective, this will not only teach their children to work hard and achieve their dreams, but also they deserve to be rewarded for their hard work. To begin, there is an argument to be made that it is beneficial for children to learn to live independenty independent of their parent’s saving. For example, many cases of kids with a wealthy family background do not end up finishing their education, because they have the financial stability provided by their parents. For this reason, it is evident that youngesters need to experience the hardship associated with work at an early age, to admire the value of their education and rely on themselves. What is more, children will challenge themselves to improve their skills and focus on their capabilities, without which they will never understand their true potentials. This being the case, it can be assumed that if children were spoiled by their parent’s money, this would cause a significant distraction for them to reach their goals. In addition to this, it must be stated that parents should dedicate time to enjoy their accomplishments. For instance, the majority of people find it is mentally satisfying to spend each summer vacation in a different country, without budgeting themselves during this period. Therefore, it is clear that older people will experience spiritual meditation by spending holidays away from work, without it they will be in a continuous stress and not able to take care of their children. Furthermore, parents should take care of their physical health to maintain their strength, so they should allocate some of their saving for rehabilitation and fitness training sessions. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if older people keep their saving for their children, this would harmfully influence their mentality and their physical strength. To conclude, the overwhelming evidence seems to suggest that older people should spend money on themselves to drive their children motivation forward, as well as sustaining their own healthy lifestyle.