Aircraft have been increasingly used for transport fruit and vegetable to some country where such plants hardly grow or are out of season. Some people consider it a good idea, but some people oppose it. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The use of aircraft to transport fruit and vegetables to countries where such plants hardly grow or are out of season has become more common in recent years. Some people think that this is a positive development, while others argue that it has negative consequences. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my own opinion. On the one hand, there are several reasons why some people consider it a good idea to transport fruit and vegetables by air. Firstly, it allows consumers to enjoy a wider variety of fresh produce throughout the year, regardless of the local climate and season. This can lead to a more balanced and nutritious diet, as well as satisfying the demand for exotic and diverse foods. Secondly, it can benefit the economies of developing countries that export their agricultural products to more affluent markets. For example, Kenya earns about $1 billion annually from exporting flowers, mostly by air, to Europe1. Thirdly, it can help to ensure food security and reduce food waste in regions that are prone to natural disasters, conflicts, or other disruptions to food production. For instance, after the earthquake in Haiti in 2010, the World Food Programme used air transport to deliver emergency food aid to the affected areas2. On the other hand, there are also several drawbacks of transporting fruit and vegetables by air. Firstly, it has a significant impact on the environment, as it contributes to greenhouse gas emissions and climate change. According to a study by the University of Manchester, air transport of food emits about 50 times more carbon dioxide than sea transport3. Secondly, it can increase the price of fresh produce for consumers, especially those in low-income households, as air freight is more expensive than other modes of transport. For example, a kilogram of asparagus imported by air from Peru costs about $26 in the UK, compared to $4 for the same amount grown locally4. Thirdly, it can undermine the local food systems and cultures, as it creates a dependence on imported foods and reduces the incentive to support local farmers and producers. For example, some critics argue that importing quinoa, a staple food for many Andean communities, by air to Western countries has led to social and economic problems for the local people5. In conclusion, I believe that transporting fruit and vegetables by air has both advantages and disadvantages, and the decision to do so should be based on a careful assessment of the costs and benefits for both the producers and the consumers. Personally, I think that air transport should be used sparingly and selectively, and that more efforts should be made to promote local and seasonal food production and consumption.