Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion saying that protecting wild animals is a waste of time and efforts since they are not necessary anymore in the 21st century. Personally, I disagree with this statement for reasons outlined below. It is nonsense to say wild animals have no part in the 21st century since they always play an important role in the environment. Whether in the Stone Age, medieval age or modern age, animals, and plants have been living together and forming a balance in life that no humans can make. Plants give off oxygen and foods, while animals help plants grow and multiply. If we don’t protect wild animals well, most of them will go extinct due to overhunting, which will break the balance of nature and lead to many adverse consequences of deforestation, hurricane, and other terrible disasters. It takes resources to protect wild animals, but their existence will bring other benefits to the nations that preserve/conserve them. Wildlife, zoos and preservation/conservation areas that allow tourists to visit would generate a large amount of income each year to the countries in charge while they can even take pride in themselves for having some of the rarest wild animals in the world, not to mention the environment protection along with it. In addition, most of the cost for protecting the wild animals is covered by various international funds all over the world, so having rare species is more of a blessing than a burden to a country. In conclusion, wild animals deserve to live freely under protection of humans due to the significance/importance of their existence and the benefits they are bringing. We should do everything we can to protect them for the sake of ourselves and our future generations.