Some people feel that playing computer games has a nagative impact on children's health and social skills. Others say that it can have a positive impact on their lives. Discuss both these views.

Years ago, children used to spend their free time playing games outside with friends or engaging in imaginative play, but now they are more likely to be found glued to a screen playing computer games. Some worry that this can be detrimental in terms of health and socialization, while others argue for the educational and cognitive benefits. Both views will be discussed in the essay, as well as why gaming needs to be carefully monitored by parents. Those who oppose gaming have strong points to make. The first, which is unrelated to the content of the games, is simply the impact on health of spending hours on a console or online. Young people have difficulty with moderation, and unless a parent supervises them, they could spend over five hours per day doing this. Obviously, obesity, diabetes, and posture problems can stem from such sedentary behavior. The other issue is the social aspect. Since many games are played solo, opponents argue, there is little chance for interaction with peers. This lack of engagement during formative years can have long-term impacts on young people's ability to communicate, cooperate, and collaborate. Nevertheless, others claim that computer games can be beneficial. They suggest that creativity, problem-solving, and even teamwork are by-products of many modern games. Minecraft, for instance, requires players to create an entire world on their own, to 'survive' attacks, and also, when played online, to work with others to achieve goals. These skills are valuable beyond gaming and even beyond schooling in the workforce. As long as parents are careful to monitor what games their child is playing, there can be positive outcomes. In conclusion, sitting on a device for hours on end is definitely not a healthy way to spend leisure time. However, with supervision, children who play computer games can reap benefits that will serve them well in their adult lives.