In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Recently, there has been a growing number of highly qualified graduates without work. I believe this is caused by limited job opportunities and lack of soft skill graduates. This problem can be solved by the government and academic institutions playing a significant role in solving this problem. Despite the fact that many universities produce highly qualified graduates, there are only a few job opportunities. The number of graduates is higher than available jobs. Therefore, in spite of having a high qualification, many graduates are still unable to find a job. To tackle this issue, the government should provide more jobs, so they can create a policy to encourage self employment by providing entrepreneurship courses and also capital so that more people can own a business. This will create new worker opportunities. Another factor is the fact that the graduates do not have the soft skills that many companies need. Take communication skills as an example. It can help people to communicate with other people or their bosses, and helps their presentation with their good public speaking. This problem could be addressed by adjusting the university curriculum which caters to highly essential soft skills such as communication and presentation. By doing this, the university does not only produce graduates with highly qualified hard skills but also possess the practical skills to perform effectively in a working environment. To sum up, many highly qualified graduates are unemployed in developed countries because there are only a few jobs available and lack of communication skills from the graduates. The government should create more jobs by having an entrepreneurship policy while the university can incorporate practical skills in their curriculum.