Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Excessive habit or usage of anything is not good for your body. The youngsters spend long hours daily on their gadgets. Children usually spend time on phones, for various purposes of entertainment like watching movies, scrolling social media, sites, reading newspapers or articles, connecting with family members and friends and much more. In my view, a negative enhancement for a child. Smartphones are quite addictive. And, intervene in the overall development of a child in multiple ways such as weak memory, loss of sight, obesity and others. To commence with, excessive usage of mobile phones weakens the intellectual brain of a young child. Moreover, it also leads to low retention of knowledge or any information. For example, since the era of mobile phones, children usually are reluctant to learn mobile numbers. Furthermore, using the phone for long hours also adds up to to weakening of the eyes and they face problems like - eye watering, wearing spectacles at an early age, headache, migraines and many others. As per the survey report conducted by BGC Group in 2015, more than 25% of children need glasses before the age of 5 years due to high exposure to blue rays. Longevity of phone usage on a regular basis, does not only sum up with visual or physical problems. But, it also contributes to physical health like obesity. For example, many times, in articles and newspapers, the doctors have shared their concern for rising body weight issues among adolescents. For this, the sole reason is the lack of outdoor activities. Nowadays, adolescent prefer to stay indoors and spend time on various gadgets than choosing any physical workout. To sum up, undoubtly, there are few positive aspects of using mobile phones such as reading newspapers or generating income through social media or trading activities. However, it is still far behind to surpass the negative developments. So, it is advisable to do everything in moderation in order to enjoy the benefits of it.