Some people believe that countries should produce all the food necessary to feed their populations and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A number of individuals are of the opinion that countries around the world should produce the food they need to feed their citizens and import less. I fully agree with this statement, and in this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this and provide examples to support my viewpoint. First of all, producing food is extremely essential for countries. Since the beginning of human history, it has been a top priority among all necessities. That is because if they don't produce the food they need, they can remain dependent on different countries which is not a secure way. They may become dependent on those countries they get food and as a result, they might lose their independence. For instance, in the 15th century, the King of Egypt changed the country's policy and imported all the nutrition from the Ottoman Empire and as a consequence, the Ottomans conquered Egypt only in a few weeks. In this case, it is extremely important that countries should provide their own food. Secondly, it is more fruitful for the country's economy. To elaborate, importing food from other countries has economic burdens such as shipping costs. These costs might be really expensive related to the country where food comes from. For example, Scotland has been importing bananas from India for 20 years which causing them a huge expense. In addition, if countries grow food on their own lands, this money can be invested in public services such as health systems and public transportation. Overall, the idea of countries producing their own food is more beneficial than importing from other countries. This essay argued that nations should produce their own food related to their independence and economic plus side. In my opinion, it is genuinely more beneficial due to its advantages.