At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the numebr of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvanatges?

There is ongoing contention over whether countries comprising a large number of younger generations have more advantages rather than the majority of the population being elderly people. This essay will argue that having a high percentage of younger people is more likely to benefit countries, as it contributes to a strong workforce and also reduces medical expenses within the nations. To begin, the young can immensely give impetus to the workforce in society. According to a static, more than 65 per cent of the labour force in a country is made up of 22 to 40 years of adults on average, which indicates that it would have a detrimental effect on the GDP of countries without leaning on them. In particular, under the circumstances where there has been fierce international competition in a myriad of fields, turning to the younger generations would be of paramount importance. Furthermore, the elderly are more vulnerable and prone to become illnesses, which often results in additional burdens in society. However, there might be concern about the safety of society in general with the younger populations increasing. For instance, an area, in which many younger adults are residing, has a tendency to have a high crime rate. In this instance, although it may pose a threat to the community around the place, this insecurity would be mitigated by enforcing a more rigid law and security system. In conclusion, while there might be a likelihood of causing a high crime rate due to an increasing number of young people, there would be several solutions to address it. Nevertheless, looking at the perspective of undermining the workforce as well as older citizens’ medical expenses, the issue can be considered to be more intricate, therefore a high population of younger people is more advantageous than its counterpart.