Some people think that plastic shopping bags should be banned because they contribute to land and sea pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that plastic bags should be prohibited because they pollute the environment. This essay completely agrees with this statement because this rule forces people to change their habits and this practice will save both the environment and human health. First and foremost, banning plastic bags when shopping forces everyone to change their habits to be more aware of plastic pollution. Groceries provide every buyer with plastic bags which are usually only used once and thrown into the dustbin. This causes an abundance of plastic waste. The waste will end up in a landfill and it require years to completely degrade. Many supermarkets have shifted from plastic bags to paper bags which are more eco-friendly. Buyers also change their habits and bring their own containers. For example, in Surabaya, every convenience store no longer provides plastic bags and customers should bring theirs or just hand carry the items. Moreover, excessive amounts of plastic trash will harm the environment and people’s lives, and limiting its use will lower the impact. Bags made from plastic will stay for years before they break down. Conversely, people rarely use it many times. Thus, the amount will mount up. There are also concerns that those plastic bags turn into microplastic that is present everywhere, including in the ocean. Research shows that microplastic is present within sea creatures such as fish. If the fish are eaten by humans, the microplastic will accumulate in the humans’ bodies and harm them in the long run. In conclusion, prohibiting plastic bag usage is needed because it changes peoples’ habits towards more eco-friendly lifestyles and lowers the negative impact on humans’ lives and the environment.