Many people around the world are still relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest some solutions.

Motor vehicles are the number one option when one needs to get around. The over circulation of this type of transport results in air pollution and traffic jams. The solution for this matter is to make public transportation accessible to all and incentives to the usage of bicycles. The majority of cars in circulation in the world are powered by fossil fuel, which is known to be the biggest emissary of CO2 in the atmosphere. This type of emissions contributes for the poor quality of air, causing many respiratory diseases in humans. Also, the exorbitant amount of automobiles cause kilometres of traffic jam in rush times in big capitals, which result in challenges for the population to go and come back from work. A great example of that is Sāo Paulo in Brazil, where people face up to 3 hours congestion daily if driving around the central city. Making public transportation accessible and cheap to everyone is necessary to mitigate the problem. For that to happen, metro and trains must receive some investment from governments and private companies, creating more routes and also investing in new and safer platforms and stations for the population. Other solution would be the creation of more cycle paths throughout the city, to encourage cyclists to ride their bicycles instead of using motor transport, which is also a cleaner alternative for the environment. For example, Amsterdam is working towards becoming a ‘car-lite’ city, taking measures to reduce the car traffic and encouraging the usage of bikes and scooters. In conclusion, driving personal vehicles can be comfortable for the individual but can cause many problems to society, alternatives must use to reduce the impacts in the atmosphere and on roads, more people must understand the importance of collective transport and cleaner options.