In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

There is no denying the fact that health and weight are inter-linked. These days, obesity is alarmingly becoming one of the substantial concerns across the world, leading to an unhealthy lifestyle all around. In this essay, I will be highlighting some of the factors related to being overweight and some ways through which this issue can be tackled. Seemingly, there are plenty of reasons behind people becoming a victim of obesity. To begin with, the rise in private vehicle purchase has discouraged people, to a large extent, from walking, whether to work, for shopping, or vacations. Second, there are only a handful of people who might be involved in exercising daily to burn extra calories. Moreover, the increasing consumption of junk food items has substantially contributed to calorie increase among people. For instance, one of the friends, in his late 20s, evaded exercising and healthy food for a longer time. As a result, he is now way beyond his ideal weight and has started developing heart issues at such a young age. Modifications and alterations in sedentary lifestyle along with adequate diet can surely help address such an issue to a great extent. To put it in simple words, consumption and intake of calories should be as per the requirements of the body by keeping the height-weight ratio and age in mind. Also, one should take a balanced diet, one that is comprehensive and contains the right amount of minerals, vitamins, carbohydrates, and fats. In addition to this, exercising should also be an inevitable part of our daily lives, and this habit should be implemented in everybody, regardless of age. People should also be motivated to give up on their sedentary habits and lead an active life by going to the gym, jogging, running, walking and more. I would like to conclude that inadequate food habits and non-active lifestyles are the real contributors to rising obesity. And, these can be dealt with attentively by calorie and meal planning.