New technology has changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of individuals questioning the merits and demerits of children spending their free time on different technology tools. On the one hand, one key benefit is that children have privilage to learn new things anytime they want. However, a significant drawback is its terrible effect on their social life. To begin, there is an argument to be made that new technology has opened the door to various sources of knowledge to kids outside the school environment. For example, many children in the UK have successfully skipped and progressed to higher classes, simply because they have learned through Youtube many information that is higher compared to their classmates. For this reason, it is evident that, technology has facilitated integrative learning experience for kids during their free time through which they can invest in themselves not only during the school time. What is more, it helps improving problem-solving skills of children, clearly because they play puzzle games that efficiently trigger their mentality and booste boosted their thinking. This being the case, it can be assumed that if technology did not exist, children would have been limited only to the school learning. Nonetheless, it must be stated that children who showed excessive phone usage lack the appreciation of social relationships and the quality time with their family. For instance, in 2010, many british children started developing severe depression and anhedonia at early age, due to the emptiness they had felt even when they were surronded by people. Therefore, it is clear that their addictive behaviour toward technology has negatively impacted their social skills and priorities in life. Furthermore, children are exposed to several dangers such as being manipulated by bad people, who can considerably distort their behaviours and waste their future. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if children abusively use the technology, this would expose them to higher risks and waste their life. To conclude, while some may feel that technology has helped students improving their knowledge and learning process, others, myself included, hold the view that doing could possibly ruin their entire life and expose them to different risks. From my perspective, the pros do not weigh the cons, it is important to realize that children are still naive and cannot destinguish between what is right and wrong while using technology.