Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, our daily lives are filled with commercials, there are more advertisements appear on tv programs, they are on the side of vehicles, on the walls of buildings and even play regularly before the youtube videos. Personally, I firmly believe excessive advertising would have a negative impact on our society, the following content will outline the reasons. The colourful and attractive commercials could become a potential security issue. While driving on the roads, drivers can see plenty of them which are printed on the sides of the vehicles such as buses, taxi and trucks. This might be a risky condition, for example, drivers could easily be distracted by them when passing a intersection or making an U turn. As a result, traffic accidents might occur. In my opinion, in order to maintain the road safety, the government should decrease the distractions which might possibly lead to accidents. On the other hand, excessive advertising could also distract people from crucial information or events. Generally, the content of commercials includes promoting products, streaming series or popular movies. While this information potentially makes people switch to entertaining or shopping channels, less people will focus on the undergoing political events, newly lauched policies and some international news. For instance, the annually election in Taiwan will mainly be affected by the enormous amount of commercials which distract public attention on politics. In conclusion, the distracting content of the excessive advertising could potentially contributes to road safety issue and loss public attention on politics. Personally, I think advertising should be limited for people to focus on something which is more vital.