WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some individuals say that the primary environmental issue is the extinction of many plants and animals, while others argue that there are more important environmental problems. This essay will examine both perspectives and present the view that species are the main reason to protect the environment. On one hand, losing animals and plants may affect the ecology for many reasons. One main reason is that trees and plants are air purified because they emit oxygen and absorb carbon dioxide. As a result, the pollution will be reduced. Furthermore, animals have the power to help in plant growth by transferring their litter to the soil. In addition, some types of animals can clean the area around them such as crows, they have a habit of collecting plastic bags or any shining materials. For example, in Oxford, which is popular for raising cows, they take the cow's waste and use it as a manure for the trees which resulted in a green and clean city. I believe, some specific species would help to solve many environmental issues and provide a friendly environment. On the other hand, some people say that there are more significant environmental problems. One of the problems is the pollution of cars. Cars produce a lot of smoke that impacts the air and this issue should be solved by replacing fuel cars with electronic cars to protect the world. For instance, the vehicles company Tesla, created a smart electronic car to avoid pollution. In my opinion, solving these problems might help although not the same as finding a solution to species extinctions. To sum up, while some may express concern about various environmental issues, preserving biodiversity should be the main focus. Protecting the species from extinction might help to provide a friendly environment.