Many people believe that university students should study a full range of subjects, instead of some specific subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people consider that it is more important to learn a variety of subjects than to focus on a certain field of knowledge in undergraduate study. I strongly agree with this view and I will present my argument in this essay. Firstly, when it comes to undergraduate study, it is important to go broad first, and than go deep. Students who acquire numerous subjects are likely to have more comprehensive and wider perspectives than others, which further develops into vital intellectual abilities. That is why most universities offer general education courses, including psychology, economics, and literature introductory courses, for students to complete in the first year of college. Those introduction courses are designed for students to have a basic understanding of what a knowledge field is about, along with a broad exposure of multiple disciplines. Secondly, lack of knowledge about multiple disciplines is likely to lead to the wrong choice of career path. It is common for students to choose careers based on their university major. Without further exploration, it is possible for a person to work in the profession based on his college major yet not suitable for him, and feels regret after working years. For example, many students in Taiwan choose to be teachers as their major and pursue a similar teaching career as they are told by their parents that being a teacher means a secure career. However, few people eventually quit teaching to pursue careers in marketing or councelling for it is what they really enjoy. By taking more subjects in the university, such mistakes could be avoided and those people could know what field of profession they have more passion about. In conclusion, it is important to explore one’s interests by taking courses of various subjects. Not only students could have a basic knowledge of what those subjects are about, they could also make the right decision in choosing the major that is suitable for them.