In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the days to come, driverless vehicles like cars, buses, and trucks are to be expected as technologies rapidly grow. Undoubtedly, autonomous vehicles can be beneficial, but I believe that the potential harm is bigger than the benefits they offer. Talking about advantages, not having to drive is definitely a win for some as driving can be so exhausting, especially for buses and trucks that are usually used for a long roadway drive. Hence, the existence of driverless vehicles can result in fewer human error incidents such as accidents that are caused by a reckless, sleepy or even drunk driver. Other than that, It can also contribute to a more productivity in terms of time. We can take the LRT for example as the system is all operated by machines. LRT is so timely based and there is no tolerance for those who are late because the doors are automatically closed, unlike buses that are still operated by humans. Even though they have their benefits, I would argue that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. The first thing that is going to happen is that workers are going to lose their jobs because so many people are employed as drivers and losing their main source of income could affect them in every aspect, mainly economically. Another thing would be injury, even though it can produce next to zero human error. For instance, if there is a machine error, the injury that it might cause is much more serious as there is no human to control it. And last but not least, autonomous vehicles require much higher costs for the maintenance and it needs to be supervised before it operates. To conclude, in my perspective, the potential dangers of autonomous vehicles are much more significant than the advantages it has.