Globalization is creating a world of one culture and destroying national identity. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The process of globalization has been a part of human society since the dawn of civilization, and it would not be wrong to state that this system has rapidly increased in recent times, which has brought both positive and negative effects. To a certain extent, one cannot deny that excessive connection is leading to cultural and identity crises. To start with, the integration of a wide spectrum of people through the advancement in technology, communication and business has made citizens more transparent and knowledgeable about the lifestyle and traditions of different ethnicities, therefore, this further helps the society to become more tolerant and cooperative. However, the extreme influence displayed by the media, big companies and the entertainment industry on Western trends is heavily impacting the current generation comprehensively. For instance, more than half of the native languages are on the verge of extinction. Since English is considered to be the global language, many educational institutions focus on imparting learning English rather than encouraging to speak local dialects. Furthermore, not only linguistic preferences are changing but also lifestyle, food habits and clothing styles. Speaking of the nature of living, specifically in an Asian community, a plethora of young cohorts opt to stay solitary rather than with their parents, this trend is majorly followed in European countries. Besides, home-cooked food is being replaced by burgers and pasta, also traditional attires like the Saree worn by people in India are replaced by Western outfits. Likewise, many countries also build look-alike landmarks, complexes and amusement parks, hence the originality lacks and further fades the authenticity that our ancestors had maintained for many centuries. Instead, one should continue the heritage because every history has its uniqueness and might fascinate the tourist about one’s culture. To conclude, globalization has two sides to the coin, one where people enjoy learning valuable knowledge about various cultures, which aids them to be more collaborative and accepting. On the other hand, excessive interconnection makes the individuality of different origins disappear. Such as ancient traditions of making cooked meals by elders, fashion, lifestyle and architectural features are all replaced by foreign interference.