More people are shopping online today than ever before. Why do people choose to shop this way? Are there any disadvantages to shopping online?

Technological advancement has altered the way people shop nowadays in a way that they are increasingly engaging in online shopping activities. This essay will discuss how time and cost-efficiency are the primary factors why people shop through online marketplaces, and it will name some potential downsides of this shopping style, such as delay in delivery and risk of fraud. Online shopping nowadays has become a habitual routine for most pupils across the globe they can shop anytime and anywhere, even in their workplaces during lunchtime or in parallel with finishing their other tasks at home. This activity offers them flexibility in opting for what to purchase at their fingertips without spending time and money to transport to shops or markets. Many citizens in Indonesia, for example, rely on e-commerce companies to purchase as many products as they wish, and the products will immediately get delivered to their front doors in 2-7 working days. Nonetheless, online shopping is not entirely beneficial and safe. There is a high risk of scams even in famous digital marketplaces, as the information and the visualisation of the products could be manipulated by irresponsible sellers so that the items do not meet the customers’ expectations. For instance, my sister bought trousers from a digital shopping site in which the seller described the items as made of premium-quality material, and the seller gave a fairly high price. The products were delivered a few days later, and the quality was disappointing. All in all, shopping through online marketplaces is now a continuous trend as it provides people with an easier way to get the items they desire in a much more efficient way. However, the activity is not all secure if customers are not careful enough, they could possibly get scammed by online sellers.