Some people think that to learn a second language well it is necessary to live in the country where that language is spoken.What is your opinion about this?

Bilingualism refers to the act of knowing a language besides your mother-tounge on a proficient level. Having the ability to comprehend and communicate using a second language is a valuable asset as it allows you to connect with people from various places all around the world. It is a no-brainer that in order for someone to master a new language, they have to go through the process of learning it thoroughly. Some might argue that it is necessary for someone to live in the country where that language is spoken. In the contrary, I think that that condition should not be a necessity. First, there are lots of technologies that support the act of learning a new language. We currently live in a digital era where majority of our needs can be accommodated by technology. Nowadays, there exist lots of language -learning platforms that are accessible by everyone. These platforms tend to include listening and speaking practices. Therefore, even without being in an environment with the native speakers, learning the ways of communication in that language is still highly possible. Second, setting the standard of someone having to move to another country for the sake of studying language is way too unrealistic. It is important to recognize all the factors involved in moving to a whole other nation. The amount of living costs, accomodations accommodation, transportations, being away from family, the whole adaptation process, and so on are factors that we need to take account into. It is simply unfair to expect every language-learners to be able to afford all those things. To summarize, I strongly believe that learning a second language should be a reachable goal for everyone. Sure, living in a place with the native speakers will definitely accelerate one's learning process. However, that does not mean others who stay at their home countries do not have what it takes to learn. There are plenty of accessible technologies that have the ability to support one's intention of learning another language. Therefore, moving to a country where the language is spoken is not a necessity.