Universities should take the same number of men and women in each major. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recent arguments have shown that several people think universities should make a rule that requires majors to accept their students based on gender, equally for men and women. However, I am against this idea because of certain reasons that will be explored more in this essay. Conventionally, universities encompass several faculties with different backgrounds varying from economy to medicine. Each of them tends to have a different gender proportion as naturally, every gender might gravitate towards some specific majors. This trend is passed across generations or known as stereotype and that is what makes up society nowadays. For instance, as we all know, the law industry is dominated by masculine men, the same case for engineering as the work requires strenuous activity. On the contrary, any health-related clusters are generally occupied by women because they have a more matronly characteristic. This is then supported by the latest research conducted by Harvard University that shows 75% of its students chose their majors because of their passions and genders. Additionally, any academy should not discriminate against students based on their sex. I believe that rather than using gender as the requirement, they should only use test selections and scores to filter the candidates. Moreover, if this gender rule is applied, I am convinced that it will create an unbalanced and unfulfilled proportion for each faculty. Let's use my major as an example, nursing, which almost 80% of it are filled with women. Obviously, if a university wants to make an equal amount of people for each gender, the male quota will not be fulfilled as there will only be a few men applying. In conclusion, institutes should not have to receive the same number of each gender for their majors as naturally there are different interests and trends as can be seen in today's world.