Some school leavers choose to travel or work for a year before going to university. What might be the reasons for this? What are the disadvantages of this practice? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Several students who just graduated from high school prefer to get a gap year before starting the next academic journey again. In this essay, I will explain why this trend occurred and the drawbacks of this choice. After 12 years of studying in school, some of the high school graduates try to get another experienced rather than going to university. This movement happened because students don't have an adequate amount of money to pay university fees and prefer to work in order to support their families financially first. Moreover, some jobs not require a bachelor's degree, therefore a high school graduate certificate is enough for them to work. After they have enough savings, they could start to pursue their education to bachelor's degree to get a bigger opportunity and salaries. To illustrate, in Indonesia, some students did not continue to higher level education because economic issues. Therefore, they prefer to work to earn some money. However, this practice sometimes faces several disadvantages. The gap year may lead to problems, such as the age being too old to start education in some universities, on the grounds that some universities have a maximum age to enter. Moreover, the student already left their education for years, so they may experience some difficulties while learning at universities. Hence, they should pay more attention and start to learn from basics, so they are not left behind. For instance, for a person who left academic activities for years and working, the ability to think and focus may be decreased. Thus, they should train it gradually to their mind more able to focus again. In conclusion, the reasons for gap year could be because of lack of financial support. I, therefore, remain firmly convinced that this practice may lead to several demerits such as age limitation and difficulties when starting to study again.