There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, it is essential to have a higher education to get a job, but it puts a lot of pressure on young lads to be successful academically. However, some argue that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the course of study so that children can focus on subjects like mathematics and science. Firstly, extracurricular courses can benefit students from a very young age to know and develop their career plan. For example, the University of British Columbia published a study in 2023 that shows, in particular, the comparison of the student who takes practical courses and the students who don't. As a result, it says that the student with other extra developed skills like cookery or plumbing is more likely to manage daily life problems than the other students. Secondly, Physical education is not only about how to stay fit or to improve health, but also about the students who are good at sports being eligible for sports quota and securing a scholarship in a big university or college. To light up, one of my friends who joined the University of Waterloo with a full-coverage scholarship. Undoubtedly, the efforts and dedication he contributed to being the best in Football for many years. Moreover, now he can be an alumnus of one of the best-ranked universities in Canada and can also upgrade his skills at an upper level. In conclusion, students have to face a lot of academic pressure to perform well. However, I strongly disagree with removing the non-academic subjects, as it not only affects students intellectual learning and to secure good financial benefits from a prestigious college. I believe that we should consider a balanced approach to offer a wide range of subjects that can benefit children's mental and health well-being.