Some celebrations have lost their meaning and these occasions have become too much about spending money. What problems can this cause? What can be done to change the situation?

In the contemporary world, celebrations have become a prestige in society and led to showcasing their richness by spending huge amounts. Some occasions have lost their purpose, and these events have become about spending cash. This essay will discuss the problems and the respective solutions for the given topic. Firstly, the primary reason to spend huge amounts on celebrations is to showcase social status and power. In order to gain public attention, these people spend a lot of money on celebrating special occasions. For example, in India, one famous businessman spent a hundred crores for his son's marriage. He invited guests with invitation cards designed with gold, and the business's name was telecasted on all the news channels and published in every newspaper. Secondly, people in society give more attention to rich individuals. This is another compelling factor for spending a lot of cash on special events and thereby impressing people in the society. To change the situation, one solution would be people should encourage registered marriages, and the cash can be utilized for good causes like helping the poor or improving public facilities. Additionally, another solution is to celebrate important events at home with family members; this is not only peaceful but also budget-friendly. To conclude, to gain fame and social status in the community, people are spending a lot of money. We can overcome these situations by educating people towards registered marriages and celebrating events at home with family members.