Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that all criminals should be treated with similar punishment, whereas others believe there should be varied penalties due to the offenders’ crimes. I strongly agree with the latter opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that the judicial system should determine appropriate punishment associated with the circumstances and motivation of the lawbreakers. In other words, it is not fair to apply the same way to all types of crimes. For instance, if a criminal murdered someone unintentionally, should not be punished as an offender who killed a victim deliberately. To clarify, not only considering a crime’s situation is essential but also the criminal’s motivation plays a vital role in the judge’s decision. For example, there is a world of differences between a murderer who has a criminal background and an individual who commits the same crime as a self-defence reaction. On the other hand, another group of people claim that the punishment for each kind of lawbreaking should be fixed. They insist that it is the most time-saving and labour-saving way of justice. Therefore, this type of punishment does not include complex bureaucracy and complex procedures as well as a large number of human resources. As a result, a great deal of money and time would be saved for the government to spend on other expenditures. However, I do not find this argument convincing as assigning a predetermined penalty to all kinds of offences seems unfair. Moreover, it is an offender’s right to be investigated comprehensively in all aspects in order to a legitimate sentence. A case in point is that a burglar cannot be treated as equally as a smuggler, since it can lead to the objection of the criminals who did a crime with lower social significance. To conclude, in my view, criminal penalties should be determined relevant to the lawbreaker’s circumstances. Since the status and intention of each crime are various they should not be treated in the same way. Moreover, invariant punishment is likely to be unfair.