It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use teach good behaviur to children?

In recent times, there has been a trend that positive reinforcements are preferable rather than providing punishment to children. However, I strongly argue that educators and parents should be allowed to use punishment to teach children what is the right thing to do in some situations. I assert that there would be two major cases in which educators and parents may need to rely on punishment, one of which is when ensuring children ’s safety. For instance, if children were to try to climb up a tree and jump from a high height, it would be crucial to stop them from doing such an unsafe activity. Similarly, in relation to physically hurting other peers, it would be necessary to give punishment, since children may not understand how much unacceptable behaviour is unless strong punishment is not exerted. Thus, as illustrated in two examples, committing an activity including any risks and hurting other friends should be regulated by punishment. Although punishment may involve physical abuse, educators and parents should not adopt this type of act, as it may traumatise children, resulting in a lasting negative impact on their development. If anything, educators could take their favourite toy for a certain period of time to prompt them to reflect on their acts. Children would feel the significance of what they have done by not having access to it. Another possible punishment would be to scold children strongly but calmly. However, the important point here would be to make a clear distinction between normal punishment and this exceptional punishment by utilising facial expressions and tone of voice. In conclusion, when educating children, it is imperative to exert punishment under the condition that they engage in risky plays or physically hurt others to make them realise the seriousness of their acts. In order to do so, removing their toys or discussing their behaviour in a serious manner would be considered proper punishment.