An increasing number of larger shopping malls, areas and departmental stores are leading to the decline number of smaller corner shops. What are the advantages and disadvantages

The development of shopping centres, areas and departmental shops make small stores losing its existence. In this essay, i will examine and analyze the advantages and disadvantages of this topic, while i strongly believe that the benefits outweight the drawbacks. To begin with, the interest of shopping in the large number of people has increased from time to time making shopping buildings extend at different areas from time to time. However, this issue must have few advantages for customers such as easiness to find needs in one place, convinient in parking and more important buildings can be built on unused land. For example, Pakuwon Mall in Surbaya, one of the biggest malls in Indonesia, have a plenty of clothes stores, food courts, and supermarkets, hence people usually visit this one building for many purposes without worrying about searching the stores or the location. Also, the land outside the malls is made for residences and apartments making more useful and presentable. On the other hand, there are two drawbacks that will be given for considering about the augment of the department stores which are the distance from houses and the crowd in every outlets. Moreover, the prize of rent in the building is more expensive than in the small house which the majority of businessmen have small capital for constructing their business. For example, in Indonesia, many new cafes and restaurants are opened on the side of the road as they have to manage their funds and also it is easier for people especially teenagers and students to approach and find that places. In conclusion, this topic has its own profits and downsides with reasoned explanation. Personally, i think the advantages surpass the disadvantages because it makes people easier to find their necessities and more comfortable to find parking lot while the drawbacks are just the location and the situation.