The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an ongoing trend that people are more likely to communicate by utilizing online or intangible tools such as video calls and voice chats. However, from a wider perspective, this trend generates not only the benefits but also the drawbacks. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages and explain why I believe that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, thanks to cutting-edge technologies, including the internet itself and some online communication tools, the efficiency in our daily lives has been significantly enhanced in recent years. For instance, in the past decades, ordinary citizens were always joining daily physical meetings in schools or workplaces because those novel and helpful technologies did not emerge yet. In contrast, nowadays, people can talk and exchange opinions even though they are so distant. As an example, I am always participating in every lecture at my university through an application, Zoom, which enables us to have video conversations by using our computers and cameras. By doing so, I can save a lot of time and money by not using public transport, leading to more efficient learning. Therefore, the benefits brought by this trend are notable and we practically enjoy those benefits every day. On the other hand, as some people argue, there are some drawbacks brought by replacing in-person interactions with new communication methods. For example, it has been proved that because of the decrease in the number of face-to-face conversations, the suicide rate in Japan surged during the last decade. Certainly, even in my case, I sometimes encounter loneliness and depression, if I keep talking with others only through my screen. But, when I face those situations, I always try to mitigate those negative emotions by going outside or visiting my campus, and, in fact, I have succeeded in overcoming those situations. This means that even though there are obvious disadvantages arising from this trend, there are numerous possible solutions, and those solutions are not too difficult to implement. Thus, it can be predicted that people will gradually get used to this new environment and consequently enjoy the benefits in the future. In conclusion, whereas there are some explicit disadvantages, such as the increase in suicide rate, so far, we can overcome those difficulties and utilize the advantages of online communications. For this reason, I suppose that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.