Many species of animals all around the world are on the verge of extinction. Some say that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say that we should concentrate more on the problems of human beings. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Our planet is facing a major environmental crisis. The consequences are manifold and impact both animals and humans alike. In the wake of such a scenario, some naturalists profess that authorities should focus on conserving wildlife, while others believe that the problems of mankind should be prioritised. In this essay, I will discuss both the viewpoints and try to reach a conclusion. Due to incessant deforestation, mindless hunting and destruction of natural habitat, many species are on the verge of extinction. Government agencies, in partnership with animal welfare groups, are working towards saving the endangered animals. Different animal species have a crucial role to play in the ecosystem. Therefore, to maintain the ecological balance, it is mankind's prime responsibility to conserve and protect wildlife. On the other hand, a section of people advocate that human beings are grappling with major issues, such as poverty, unemployment and homelessness and thus, governments should give precedence to their needs. Additionally, they feel that funds should be allocated for alleviating the lot of the impoverished rather than being wasted on wildlife conservation. In conclusion, I would like to say that a holistic approach is required wherein both the problems of wildlife and mankind are given equal importance. Since man's excessive greed and desire for progress are the major causes of ecological imbalance, it is our duty to ensure that animals thrives in their natural environment. Also, we cannot ignore the dismal living conditions of those occupying the lowest rungs of the social ladder and policies directed towards ensuring their well being should be implemented without delay.