In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

While currently in some parts of the world, there are more senior people than ever, some people think that it brings several drawbacks to the government. On the other hand, some also believe that it will bring more positive impacts to the public. This essay will discuss the impacts of having a larger number of elderly people, in which the drawbacks will take precedence over the benefits as firstly, it will increase the fund allocation of the country to social services, but still, it will also contribute to giving wisdom to the society. The government is required to channel its investment to seniors, such as by providing nursing homes. When there is a higher number of seniors, it means the government needs more money to spend on because they will need to hire professionals to take care of the elderly which are more likely to be expensive. For example, in Indonesia, the salary for caregivers in nursing homes is high due to its availability. However, the elderly people also bring advantages to their small circle, one of them is by bringing wisdom to their grandchildren. A grandson could have a better point of view and an advice from his grandparents because the grandparents have lived longer compared to the grandson’s parents. For instance, grandparents will tell their grandson that manners are important, especially when talking to someone older. To conclude, a huge number of seniors in a country can bring both benefits and drawbacks, although the drawbacks may outweigh the benefits because the government needs to allocate more money to build nursing homes rather than the positive impacts by giving the young people wisdom.