The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, because of the contemporary technology, social media such as Facebook and Twitter plays a crucial part of our daily lives. However, some argue these online communicating applications influence the way how humans do social activity. In the following paragraphs, the content will outline the benefits and drawbacks of this ongoing development. Firstly, social media is not a suitable place to make friends. People enjoy communicating applications because of their convenience and numerous contactors who they can talk to. Nevertheless, people could hide their information on the Internet, as a result, it would be difficult to find a friend online, sometimes, they might even encounter online frauds. In contrast, people who lived in the past used to communicate in person, as a result, the connection between each other are strong and unbreakable, they will have more emotional interaction and will have closer relationships. People needed plenty of time to receive the foreign messages, therefore, people lost connection when they went abroad in the past. However, communicating technology offers a fast and cheap solution for this situation. For instance, as a international students, I can make phone calls and send messages to my family everyday, in addition, my family members can find my daily experience on my Facebook and Instagram pages. This reduce my homesick and the anxiety from my parents. In conclusion, social media has some insecure issues when people hide their information on the Internet, however, there is no doubt that social media provides us a better experience of communication.