In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than traditional clothing.

Why? Is this a positive or negative development? In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans,...) rather than traditional clothing. I personally agree that this problem has both negative and positive development. Firstly, it is true that Western clothes are more suitable for today's living context than traditional ones. The world is now increasingly developing, requiring people constantly work and devote, so that we need to wear some Western clothes such as suits, jeans,... because of its convenience. In fact, a firefighter can't wear ao dai to go to the scene of a fire and a surgeon may get in trouble with flameco. They need neater outfits than that. Also, it's a form of noverbal communication because through Western clothing, people can express their style, personality, interests and opinions. They can identify themselves with or distinguish from other groups, demonstrate their status and enhance bonds. When we look at a person wearing a dress, we will see them as cute and graceful, when we see a person wearing a suit, elegance and nobility are something that cannot be hidden. We can know we're similar or different with them, start a conversation and enhance our bonds. However, traditional costumes can not be forgotten, nor should become outdated because of that. Traditional clothes serve as a unique cultural marker for each ethnic group, creating variety and uniqueness, are the essence and soul of each nation, and are the unique characteristics that distinguish one ethnicity with another. People can look at what you're wearing and know what ethnicity you are. Besides, it is a cultural element. It reflect history, the past, mark the development of the country and existence to prove a proud past. Referring to Vietnam, ao dai with conical hats or adding lotus, Korea has hanbok, Japan has kimono,... are all unique symbols worth cherishing. In conclusion, Western clothes and traditional clothes each has its own advantages, disadvantages and has its own position in society. To develop, both types of clothing must go hand in hand, and if we put them at the right time and situation, we can show their beauty.