In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Nowadays it is becoming increasingly popular for people to collect information about the origin of a building they live in. This essay will delve into possible rationale for this growing trend and offer potential sources of this data. To begin with, two main factors are standing behind people's willingness to gain insights into the history of their place of accommodation. Primarily, specific information about the building is often needed during the renovation or modernization of a property. In other words, there are strict criteria regarding the age, the model and the materials used that need to be thoroughly checked before making any architectural changes. For instance, there are some specific rules regarding renovations in post-war buildings, so not only living in that place will be safe, but also these memorable places won't be destroyed. Apart from that, curiosity might play a significant role in this increasing trend. Inhabitants could simply want to become more aware of the place that they spend most of their time in. There are several methods to find information regarding a certain building. Firstly, the Internet guarantees undeniably great source of data. There are many websites specifically focused on the architecture of a particular area, where you search for an exact place and read about its history. For example, Wikipedia offers the possibility to put the name of a street and the number of a building, and it searches for specific information regarding it. Besides, talking with previous residents might also be a great opportunity to gain some knowledge about a building. It is possible that ex-inhabitants were also intrigued with the origin of their accommodation, and might know some details about it. To conclude, the increase in the demand for becoming aware of the history of one's place of living is often driven by architectural requirements people need to meet during a renovation, or simply by curiosity. Furthermore, not only the Internet but also a conversation with previous residents could be a valuable source of this data.