In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some children often hear that there is nothing impossible in the world unless they work hard in order to achieve the desired result. This point of view has some merits and demerits which I am going to discuss in the essay. The first advantage of the strategy is that children, who have been raised with such a motto, are not afraid of trying themselves in a diverse variety of spheres and develop new skills even if they do not achieve impressive results after a short period of time. Secondly, they are highly motivated workers. They do not rely on mysterious talent but work hard and consistently. In a book called ”Grit” the author describes a research of two groups of people. The participants of the first group are talented in some sphere and develop their skills without putting extra effort because they know that this area is easy for them. The other group struggled in the beginning of their career in the same sphere and that is why they worked hard with passion and perseverance. Researches show that in a long distance, the second group will achieve more impressive results due to their efforts and consistency. However, raising children with the thought that they can achieve whatever they desire if they try hard has some negative aspects. One of them is that such beliefs create extra pressure on them. They work unstoppable and if they do not achieve a certain goal they think that they have not worked enough. Although sometimes the case is not in the amount of effort they have put in, the goal was achievable from the beginning. For example, if a person starts learning a new language from scratch and wants to reach an advanced level within a month, it is impossible no matter how many hours are spent, our brain is not able to assimilate new information at such speed. To sum up, I believe that raising children with the belief that they can achieve anything if they put lots of effort has more positive than negative effects as it helps them to become motivated and persistent people who are not afraid of difficulties at the beginning of the journey. In order to avoid negative consequences, parents should teach their children to set realistic goals and not worry if they struggle to achieve something.