Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

With the advancements in technology, it has been the increasingly common idea that the rise in the cost of petrol can be a good solution to minimize traffic congestion and pollution, particularly in big cities. While there are some sensible positive effects of this trend, l believe that the encouragement of using public transport can be a great way to tackle that issue effectively. These days, the increase in the price of petrol may be the sole solution in addressing traffic congestion and city pollution due to several reasons. First of all, as long as governmental activities are forced in the field of fuel resources in order to lower the purchase of it, car owners could be discouraged sufficiently, resulting in less usage of private cars. As a consequence, traffic flow can be easy and the level of pollution decreases greatly. Therefore, the price of car fuels should be high to address this issue as a result. With the improvement of the economy, ordinary people can afford to buy whatever they want, cars in particular. This usually influences the flow of cars on roads and harms the cities. This can be confronted by discouraging people from using private cars by imposing taxes for using and raising the cost of cars. This may cause owners to use it less, which means public transport may be the sole option as a result for people. This measure can be an ideal strategy to fight against congestion on roads and pollutants in metropolitan areas. In conclusion, while expensive petrol highly likely solves problems in an urban environment, l believe that discouragement by using different methods, such as taxes and luxury cars yields better solutions for city life.