Some people believe that the best way to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. Others think that there are alternative ways to achieve this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In these modern days, environmental problems have become a serious issue that cannot be ignored by everyone. When it comes to how to deal with this obstacle, some people trust that rising the price of fuel for vehicles is the best way to takcle it. While I strongly disagree with this view, I believe there are more approaches to achieve this. First of all, vehicles play a vital role in everyone life, a major of people mush have car or motorbike as their transportation, fuel is the basis to operate these vechicles. There is not doubt that increasing the cost of petrol will brings some beneficial, obviously reducing the amount of people using cars. The less of people using car, they will choose carpooling, thus, traffic congestion problem can be mitigated and air pollution as well. However, it will also come along with some disadvantages to economic of the country. According to the law of demand, if the price of fuel increase, the demand of it will decrease as well, because comsumer consumers have limited finiancial to spend, the industry of fuel will hit hard. Therefore, I consider it is not a best way to address environmental problem. On the contrary, government should promote environmental awareness to public by organising camps or speeches about this topic. In addition, eco-friendly activities can be conducted so that participants can learn information such as 3R principle - reduce, reuse and recycle. People will have opportunity to know more about greenhouse effect, global warming and the effect of climate change. Recently, deforestation, illegal fishing and pollution activities have been carried out and affected our earth critically. In these cases, government should imposes tax to punish those lawbreakers to decrease environmental threats. Besides, moral values and environmental knowledge can be taught in school to promote awareness among students. As an individual, our contibute are limited, but many a liitle makes mickle, we can act some activities in our daily life, for example, participating in eco-friendly events, carpooling, saving water and energy. Taking everything into a nutshell, although increase the cost of petrol of vehicle could be a way to protect our environment, particularly reducing the amount of transports on road, but I personally would say that there are alternative ways to achieve this target