The government’s investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Government should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In contemporary society, government funding has consistently been the topic of interest among the masses. While there are compelling arguments in favour of that rather than distributing budgets in the art industry, the governments should invest this money in public services, there are also significant reasons to approach it with scepticism. Despite recognizing the merits and drawbacks behind the viewpoint, I am inclined to oppose this perspective, as I believe our community need the power of arts and music. It is clear that numerous students now will choose computer science,physics or pharmacy as their major subject, instead of arts, acting or composition, because the salaries for artists, not famous actors and musicians are not stable at all. Obviously, people who work in the creative industry need government subsidies to maintain their standard of living. It can not be denied that sometimes the public cannot understand the meanings behind the paintings and songs, and think of how better if governments use those allowances to improve public transportation, children's education or urban planning. It is therefore reasonable that some people blame terrible public services on governments giving too much help to artists. However, the aforementioned perspectives overlook that creativity and imagination play a vital role in the human community. For example, the revolutionary invention of artificial intelligence ChatGPT was born on creativity, if inventors had not thought outside the box, human civilization could not have improved so quickly. Additionally, creativity can be a serious business, some scientists highlighted that rhythms and colourful paintings will enhance people's physical and mental health and recover more quickly from illness. Thus, it is vital for governments to support those creative artists, musicians and actors and provide them opportunities to share their experiences and life journies with the public. Such instances challenge the initial assertion, underscore the complexity of the perspective and support that it is important to lend hands to artists, otherwise, people's development will slow down. In conclusion, reflecting upon the point of view that governments should invest the majority of budgets in public services instead of helping people work in the creative industry. While countries' infrastructures are important, it is crucial to acknowledge that human society needs creativity to improve and increase well-being. Given these considerations, my allegiance that I disagree with the perspective is steadfastly consolidated and incontrovertibly firm.