The rise of social media has affeced personal relationships and society as a whole. Do the advantages of using social media for communication outweigh the disadvantages?

Generally, personal relationships and social communications have been swayed by the development of social media. This author believes that the benefits of ranged connection and associated stability outweigh the drawbacks of lacking physical experiences. The most advantageous factor of social platforms is they provide unlimited linking people together regardless of distance and numbers. Therefore, it consistently gathers people in an online space making people feel less lonely. From prior knowledge, everyone can log onto social media sites and follow a well-known person that they like which will improve their mood. Thus, using social media can help people feel better because of its wide-ranging connection. Another vital benefit that can be gained is the high frequency of contact which helps people maintain their relationships. It should be acknowledged that social media applications such as Messenger or Zalo are an all-day service which means users can always keep in touch with others, hence, bonds between them are hardly broken. For instance, a group of friends can have a video call together and share their experiences whenever they want. Ultimately, the simple communication method strengthens the links between people. However, some people contend that the absence of face-to-face interactions, social platforms can make users feel separated rather than connected. This is a credible point but sounds and motions which can be attached to a file will create an active environment for people to join together. In conclusion, by sharing videos and vocals can tackle the scarcity of contact. Taking all points into account, the shortage in eye-to-eye connection is outweighed by the merits of further relationships accessible and prolonging the association. That means, social media has a positive effect on communication.