In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

People in the countryside have started to migrate to modern and big cities. This is believed to be due to a modernization process of the world and its general society. It is argued that this occurrence is considered an overall positive development. To support this argument, the impacts of industrialization and the benefits of a more advanced education system will be analyzed further through this essay. Firstly, owing to the advancements made in the industry sector, the proportion of the population needed to work in rural areas is continuously decreasing. For instance, nowadays, machines like tractors and automated mills could easily overtake the labour that used to be done by farmers, which resulted in less need for human resources. Consequently, most of the work in the countryside could be done easily by only a few people, while the rest could enhance their skills in the cities. This negates the argument that fewer people in the countryside could cause a net negative outcome. Furthermore, for a country to excel globally, there needs to be a properly designed education system, which can only be accessed in bigger, more modern cities. For example, in Indonesia, the top 10 best educational institutions are heavily saturated in DKI Jakarta, the capital region of Indonesia. The movement of families from rural to urban areas could enable the younger generations to access far more advanced levels of quality education, preparing them to be able to strive in the globalization era. To conclude, owing to better access to quality education and the ease of burden by machinery automatization, the migration of people from rural to urban settings will provide more positive takeaways than negative ones, as the world will continuously adapt to a more modern outlook in the future.