A staggering amount of food is wasted every year, both in businesses and household. Why is this happening? What can be done to tackle this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

People have different opinions on the yearly food waste problem, In this essay, I will discuss the causes of this problem first and then offer some possible solutions to it. In my view, the primary cause of this problem is the incorrect estimation of demand. For example, restaurants often overstock food because they overestimate the number of customers or overbuy food to avoid shortages. This is not entirely the restaurants ' fault, there are many factors that can lead to changes in customer numbers. Due to these miscalculations, food often expires and needs to be thrown away. In terms of households, parents are always attracted to discounted products, because they can reduce the cost of living, but these items often have a drawback: they will expire soon. If the family cannot eat the food within the limited time, that becomes a waste too. In order to overcome this problem, restaurants could partner with companies which are experts in customer number estimation. This could help restaurants prepare the right amount of food. It would not only benefit in reducing food waste, but also in decreasing costs. Furthermore, excess food could be donated to institutions such as orphanages or homeless shelters, which could help children and homeless people a lot, while at the same time avoiding food waste. As for households, parents should focus more on expiration dates than discount campaigns, buying only the amount that the family needs. In conclusion, while it is improbable that any solution will be found in the near future. I feel that the abovementioned measures would be a good first step.