In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Some predictions foresee that in the future, vehicles like cars, buses, and trucks will not require a driver and will only contain passive passengers. However, this essay argues that the disadvantages of this technological advancement far outweigh its benefits, as it encourages laziness and compromises road safety. Firstly, the invention of driverless vehicles will facilitate laziness among people across the globe. It is known that driving is a basic skill that everyone should possess, and replacing this already easy task with robots encourages sedentary living. As a result, people are less likely to exert the energy required to steer their vehicles, thus remaining lazy. For instance, smart cleaning equipment has been invented to help out with household chores only for their owners to sit back and lose important life skills, like cleaning, and stay lazy. Another prime disadvantage of driverless vehicles is the risk of technical errors associated with them. After all, these advanced robots are human-made, and just like humans, they can make errors. However, this is particularly dangerous when driverless cars approach busy and unpredictable roads. In this case, human lives are at risk. Moreover, the use of driverless trucks, which usually carry goods and services, can be dangerous as a crash can lead to all of their contents falling over and losing valuable items, which is economically disadvantageous. On the other hand, although the use of driverless vehicles comes with a number of disadvantages, it can also be helpful. By not requiring an active driver, those seeking to travel cross-country by road can greatly benefit as they save time and energy that would otherwise be used for driving. As a result, they could enjoy their leisure time more with fun activities as opposed to sitting behind the wheel for hours on end, tiring themselves. For instance, family vans can be made to self-drive, as they are more often used on long highways that are not congested and free from the dangers of road traffic. This results in more time being spent by family members doing memorable holiday activities. In conclusion, although self-driving cars can make transport much easier for those seeking to travel, I believe that the drawbacks of this far outweigh its benefits, as it facilitates sedentary life and, in multiple circumstances, can be unsafe for many people.