Many people believe that children should learn a second language from a young age. Do you agree with this view, and what are some potential benefits and challenges of early language acquisition?

These days, learning a second language is crucial for professional purposes, and for a fraction, foreign language teaching should start during childhood, with which I agree. The purpose of this essay is to present the pros and the cons related to this learning and to indicate my position on it. On the one hand, learning a second idiom in the early years could facilitate kids ' future professional lives. This is because children are fast learners due to their brain's plasticity, which allows them a quicker assimilation of information. As a result, the effort of studying a new language would be much lower for kids than for adults. Additionally, in primary schools, the foreign idiom could be introduced naturally in children's education, making this process smoother and organic. For instance, kids who have studied in institutions with bilingual education have better results in English proficiency assessments, such as IELTS, than those who have experienced a Portuguese-only education. On the other hand, studying a second language could cause infantile stress and demotivation, since it requires a significant amount of time and dedication. In this case, children could become overwhelmed by the excess of information, which could culminate in burnout. Furthermore, kids under these circumstances have less time for other essential activities, like sports and arts, and this lack of relaxing initiatives may result in sadness and introspection. To sum up, despite the possible challenges related to the early introduction of a second language in children's lives, such as potential tension and lack of motivation, I totally agree with this measure, since its benefits, for example, fast and more organic learning, are more significant than its disadvantages.