An increasing number of children are overweight which could result many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and healtg care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, overweight among kids is a pressing issue that must be addressed. In this context, more and more kids are experiencing obesity, which has the potential to cause health issues and increasing costs for hospitals and doctors. The purpose of this essay is to present the reasons for this issue and some solutions to reverse this scenario. Primarily, it is important to highlight that bad feeding habits are one of the main causes of overweight. This is because kids prefer to consume fast food, which is much more appealing and tasty, than natural ingredients, such as vegetables and fruits. For instance, besides the flavour of their hamburgers, McDonald's also sells combos, like the Happy Meal, containing collectibles and surprises, which stimulate children's consumption of their products. Additionally, in many cases, due to work, many parents are leaving their children unattended at home, allowing them to eat whatever and whenever they want. To solve this, parents should adopt healthy food consumption at home, limiting their kids ' access to fast food, and allowing better control of their kids ' weight. Secondly, the lack of physical activity is another relevant component of infantile obesity. To mention, the excessive usage of the internet or video games, both normally at home, turn youngsters sedentary, leading to a gain of weight. Furthermore, due to body shaming and bullying, some young people simply do not take part in physical classes in school, which elevates the risk of being overweight. To illustrate, in Brazil, it is usual to take the t-shirt off when kids are playing soccer, and those who are already overweight refuse to play, to avoid their body exposition and potential fun made of them. In order to mitigate these effects, governments should implement educational programs, aimed at promoting sports during childhood, to reduce obesity among students. To sum up, being overweight during kids ' early years is a relevant matter to be addressed. Since this issue may be related to the consumption of unhealthy food and sedentarism, to solve it, parents should opt for natural ingredients during meals and governments should establish physical activity campaigns at schools.