Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

World became aware of environmental problems that resulted in a reduction of human quality of life. However, people still argue whether loss of particular species of flora and fauna is the main one and others who said there are more related problems. In my opinion, there are several living things that need to be preserved for a better environment, but to do that we need to do more comprehensive problems such as global warming and the rise of sea level. On one hand, once a species becomes extinct, it can not be restored. As a consequences, the food chain can be disrupted which results in losses of endemic flora and fauna which are iconic in one’s country. For instance, when the only large-fruit eating animals, Dodo birds, declared gone and can not be found anymore, many scientists stated on their observation that many big fruits have not dispersed and many other small animals populations are declining. Not only that, but also Dodo birds are endemic only in Mauritius Island, so other countries can not help to repopulate Dodo birds until now, however the small island is so remote and there are no effects on the world's flora and fauna. On the other hand, to choose which species that are the most important to be protected are hard and each country has their own unique species, so other important problems like global warming and the rise of sea level are the most needed to tackle in this era. Global warming has caused the loss of habitat of many temperature-sensitive species in the world, which could result in failure of biodiversity. The other problems that have a direct impact is rising sea level which has drowned cities and islands inhabited by humans. They are not the only reason these phenomena happened, but it can be traced to others reasons and preventions for better environment in the whole world. In conclusion, environmental problems do not mainly only affect the number of animals and plants. Only by joining hands to deal with more important and whole problems like global warming and the rise of sea level, these animals, plants, and human society can also have a better life and chance to keep living.