Some people say that after finishing their education adults can increase knowledge through continuous reading. Those who disagree say there are other ways to increase knowledge. Discuss both of these methods and give your opinion.

In modern society, there is an argument that government should raise the tax of sugary products in order to affect the average sugar intake from these goods whose high sugar content causes numerous health problems. From my perspective, I firmly believe that it is not a practical solution to make a decrease in consumption of sweet food and soft drinks, which will be further explained in the following essay. Firstly, there are a number of drawbacks of the idea of increasing tax, one of which is negative economic effects. If the government enacts the law to raise the tax of sugary processed products, prices will skyrocket, which canlead to much more severe inflation. Before this plan can show its affection on people’s purchases of manufactured products with high content of sugar, it will lengthen the harsh economic depression which outweighs the benefit of cutting down on sugar consumption, especially in times of crisis like this period after Covid-19 pandemic. Secondly, the idea of making sugary products much more expensive seems to be an useless method if consumers do not realize how harmful a huge amount of sugar they take usually. Therefore, government had better make an attempt to raise public’s awareness of illnesses whose root cause is a significant sugar intake from processed food, instead of raising tax. If not, all the effort will come into nothing. In conclusion, increasing the price of sugary goods’ price is one of legion solutions that individuals come up with to lessen the consumption of sweet food and soft drinks to avoid numerous illnesses. To my mind, it sounds like an ineffective and ridiculous idea due to the fact that its demerits outweigh the merits.